For the first time in 3 years, South Australia and the Gillman MRA Club welcomed professional Motocross racing back to the incredible venue, hosting Round 4 of the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship presented by AMX Superstores. In what can only be described as a riders dream race track, the rain leading into the event combined with the sandy surface to create incredible conditions, allowing close battles and amazing on track action.

The Ezilift MXW class from Gillman, SA for Round 4 of the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship presented by AMX Superstores

Once again the THOR MX1 field came into Round 4 with everything to play for with just 1 point separating the Red Plate holder of Husqvarna Australia’s Todd Waters and CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Aaron Tanti. Tanti would send a message to the field in the morning claiming the fastest time in the AMX Superstores Top Ten Pole Shootout. 

In the opening THOR MX1 Moto, it was South Australian Motocross legend Brett Metcalfe on the GO24 KTM who took the holeshot to the delight of the hometown fans. Dean Ferris on the HRC Honda Factory Racing machine would quickly mount an attack passing into the lead in turn 3 of the opening lap. As the field settled into track position, Metcalfe made his intentions to the hometown crowd clear, passing Ferris back for 1st place. Metcalfe from here would proceed to shift another gear and check out from the THOR MX1 field. Ferris would begin to shuffle back through the field, with Tanti moving to 2nd, KTM Australia’s Kirk Gibbs moving to 3rd and setting his sights on Tanti. The cluster of THOR MX1 superstars would stay in this procession with Ferris in 4th and Waters in 5th for the majority of the opening moto. Towards the end, Waters would pass Ferris for 4th as Metcalfe took the win at the chequered flag, with Tanti 2nd and Gibbs in 3rd.

Dean Ferris rocketed out of the gate to the holeshot in Moto 2 before Aaron Tanti would pass for the lead in the opening lap. As Tanti established a strong track position out front, Ferris and Metcalfe would run in formation for 15 minutes with Metcalfe mounting attack after attack on Ferris without success. With 6 minutes to go, Metcalfe would finally make the pass stick on Ferris into 2nd and set his sights on Tanti. A lap later Kirk Gibbs made the pass on Ferris into 3rd and also joined the battle for the lead. A game of cat and mouse would ensue in the final 2 laps as Metcalfe would attack Tanti and then Gibbs would try to counter Metcalfe. Down the stretch it was Tanti who rode flawlessly and did not crack under relentless pressure to take the win with Metcalfe in 2nd and Gibbs in 3rd. Dean Ferris and Todd Waters round out the top 5 positions.

Aaron Tanti took the overall win for the Round with 2-1 Moto scores and also the coveted THOR MX1 Red Plate. Brett Metcalfe would match points with Tanti but claim 2nd overall on the count back with Kirk Gibbs in 3rd overall.  

One Comment
  1. I’m no longer positive the place you are getting your information, however
    good topic. I must spend some time studying more or working out more.
    Thanks for magnificent info I used to be searching for this
    information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search this website