Sierra Leone boxer reaches AFBC African Championship semi-finals

Canada-based Sierra Leonean boxer, Sara Haghight-Joo has qualified for the semi-finals of the ongoing AFBC Africa Elite Men’s and Women’s boxing championship in Mozambique.

Sara defeated the Republic of South Africa’s Lethokuhle SIBISI in the women’s 52kg category.

The Sierra Leonean current top rated female boxer will engage in the semi-finals on Wednesday 14th September, 2022.

Twenty seven nations are to competing in the new edition of the AFBC African Men’s and Women’s Boxing Championships which is ongoing in the capital city of Mozambique, Maputo from September 9-18.

Twelve women and thirteen men boxers will be crowned as champions of various weight categories at the this year’s AFBC African Elite Boxing Championships.

The gold medalists of the continental championships will get 10,000 USD, the silver medalists 5,000 USD, while those who claim bronze in all of the weight categories can expect 2,500 USD.

Algeria, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Comoros, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia are all  participating in the AFBC African Elite Boxing Championships.

Altogether 211 boxers including 64 women and 147 men are registered to fight in this Championships which will return to the boxing map after five years of break and will be held for both genders. The men’s lightweight (60kg) could be the most crowded category with the expectation of 17 participating boxers.

The African female boxers earned a record number of five medals at the IBA Women’s World Boxing Championships in Istanbul in May 2022. All of the five women medalists have registered to  earn gold medals in the AFBC African Elite Boxing Championships.

The AFBC African Elite Boxing Championships has 60 years of history, the first edition featured in Cairo, Egypt in 1962. Ghana, Nigeria, Zambia, Kenya, Uganda, Libya, South Africa, Algeria, Mauritius, Cameroon, Morocco, Madagascar, Egypt and Congo hosted the previous editions between 1962 and 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search this website